Zucchini cake Florentine with coconut oil hollandaise

Zucchini cake Florentine

There are two types of people when it comes to using up leftovers. The people that suck and let them sit in the fridge for 3 months til they turn to moss, and the people that are awesome who use them to create something innovative and delicious. I’m probably a bit of both, but for cool factor purposes I’m going to consider myself more of the ladder for this entry.

Last time, I presented you with the zucchini cake. This time, I have repurposed the cake and transformed it into a unique take on a brunch time favorite—eggs Florentine. For those of you unfamiliar with Florentine, it’s essentially eggs Benedict (if you don’t know what this is Google it, you should be ashamed of yourself) with the addition of spinach.

When I am cooking for myself, I like to see how I can lighten up dishes that are usually considered heavy/rich/sinful/decadent without sacrificing flavor.  And this, my friends, is a winner. I healthified (it’s a word) the hollandaise sauce by swapping out butter for coconut oil, and you can’t. even. tell. You can even ask my brother, who I assure you does NOT prefer to healthify his food.

Happy eating, everybody. And don’t waste your leftovers!

Enjoy.

Ingredients

  • Zucchini cakes
  • eggs
  • spinach
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • fresh parsley (for garnish)

For the hollandaise 

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • lemon juice
  • cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Reheat leftover zucchini cakes for about 20 minutes, or until crispy and warmed through.

Fill a blender with boiling water, cover, and let sit for 10 minutes. This will keep the sauce warm after you make it.

Pour the hot water out of the blender and dry it thoroughly. Add the yolks and lemon juice (as much or as little as you’d like, you can always add more) and pulse. Quickly heat the coconut oil on the stove. When oil is hot, set blender to low and slowly pour the oil into the mixture. Season with salt, pepper, and cayenne, and pulse to blend.

Heat olive oil over med-low heat and saute spinach until wilted. Season with salt and pepper. Cook eggs any style you like. Traditionally, poached is the way to go, but I did sunny side up because I’m lazy. Layer the spinach and the egg on top of a zucchini cake and drizzle with hollandaise. Garnish with fresh parsley.

*This recipe only makes enough hollandaise for 1-2 cakes (depending on your preferences, of course). I would double or triple the recipe if making for a group. 

Leave a comment