BLTA salad with an egg

BLTA salad

Great news, guys—I am alive! This year has been quite a rollercoaster ride, but I am back and hungrier than ever. Let’s eat!

One of my favorite things to do is take a dish and transform it into something completely different, while  still using all the same flavor profiles. Taco pizza, anyone? Here, I took one of my favorite sandwiches and turned it into a healthy breakfast salad. You still get the traditional flavors of a BLT without all the filling carbs. The creamy avocado complements the salty bacon while the crisp, fresh lettuce (I used spinach)  balances out the rich egg yolk. I like to toss the greens in a simple vinaigrette (oil and vinegar) just to give it a little more depth of flavor, but the salad doesn’t really need dressing, as the yolk kind of plays that role.

As always, feel free to swap or add ingredients as you choose!

Enjoy.

Ingredients

greens (spinach, romaine, etc.)
tomatoes
avocado
bacon (I used turkey bacon)
egg
salt and pepper

For the dressing (optional)

olive oil
red wine vinegar
salt and pepper

Instructions

Cook bacon til desired and chop into small pieces. While bacon is cooking, dice the tomatoes and avocado.

Mix together olive oil, red wine vinegar, and salt and pepper to taste. Toss greens with vinaigrette to lightly coat leaves. Add tomatoes, bacon, and avocado. Cook egg as desired and place on top of salad.

Top with a pinch of salt and pepper. EAT.

 

One thought on “BLTA salad with an egg

  1. I love eggs! I love bacon! I love avocados! And I love breakfast or anything resembling breakfast any time of the day. Guess I will be making this. Welcome back – I missed you.

    Like

Leave a comment